System Analysis: Computer Operating System

IMG_20150921_112825152

The first system I decided to analyze was a computer’s operating system. At first I thought the OS was just something that organized what the user sees and displays the Graphical User Interface so the user can interact with the computer. Upon further Inspection I noticed that the OS does way more than just provide a GUI. The OS has a lot to do with the management of resources. Some of these resources are the Rapid Access Memory or RAM and the Hard Disk Drive or HDD. The OS tells the computer how much of either of these it can use without it being too much for the computer to handle. Previously I thought the processor handled more of this and was surprised to find out that a computer’s operating system had a lot more to do than provide a GUI and a way for the user to interact with programs. Above is my sketch of the system.

Leave a comment